Posted by: Craig | September 26, 2010

The Ingress Point

So what’s first? To set-up an adventure tourism business that is off grid (no reliance on piped water, sanitation services or centrally generated electricity) is no simple matter.

And to make it even more challenging, I want to grow my own food – with enough to feed myself, my staff and my guests. Eish! That may be a bridge too far – but I’d like to give it a try!

I’ve literally been thinking about a major change of lifestyle for years. It’s typically me. I’m a Capricorn, so shoot me 🙂

Seriously though, one needs a start point when embarking on a project this massive and life changing.

The obvious ingress point (to use a cool military aviation term) is the purchase of a suitable property.

Right now is a good time in South Africa to buy property. Interest rates are the lowest they’ve been in over 30 years and the market has yet to fully recover from the financial shock initiated by the credit crisis in the US. It’s a buyers’ market.

So I should buy now. As in right now!!

But I’m already heavily indebted. Nonetheless, I’m thinking of extending the bond on my second house in Sophia Town, Johannesburg, and using that loot to pay the deposit on this third property, somewhere in said paradise.

I know it’s not level headed and could be risky. But that’s the only way it’ll work.

If all goes to plan (I buy at the right price) – then I should be able to settle the outstanding bond very quickly and be debt free by the 2015 deadline I’ve set myself.

So, tomorrow, I’m off to the bank to beg them to “give me the cash” 😉

Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Sounds like a real challenge, but a very worthwhile one if it all works out. I honestly admire people who have the courage to chase such dreams, and I wish you success. I’ll be sure to watch for updates.

  2. Thanks my boet 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

